Aloha and welcome to the forum! @StG58 has all the info you will need on the 2.5. Short answer, no, there is nothing you can do to improve HP by any measureable amount. Keeping your rig light, 33" tires and smaller, and gear it accordingly, are the only ways to go with the 4 cyl.

Thanks guys, its got 156k on it having the trans rebuilt as we speak. right after the work started, someone post a 01 with no papers for parts. I'm considering buying it as I need to replace original rollcage as its rotted out at base near front seats, it also has a hard top, full doors and running 6cylinder and trans he's asking 2300, I think I may pull the trigger on it if still available talked to the guy 5days ago). Im not a mechanic, so I have to pay for some things and do the things I can do myself. I've been spending a lot of time looking at you-tube!
Thanks for the welcome...can't wait to get Jeep back from the shop!!!

Reactions: shadow26dpz
Reactions: StG58
daily driver for now as I get the feel for it, I will be using it on the sand and slowly build my experience to do other off roading. Frame and body great, having trans rebuilt now.
Here's are two good threads that @StG58 wrote that is all about the 2.5:
How can I get more performance out of my 2.5?
Four angry squirrels, or the TJ 2.5's and 2.4's

I encourage you to read this if you aren't that familiar with the 2.5.

However, being as though you're in Kauai (which I've visited many times), I think the 2.5 would be PERFECT for you! Not too much highway there.
thanks a lot Chris really appreciate the information I will definitely check out those posts

Reactions: Chris
No problem, there's a lot of guys here with 4 cylinder TJs. The general consensus is that they suck for long highway trips (especially if they're up hill). However, if most of the stuff you do is stop-and-go, off-roading, and mostly flat ground driving (meaning not going up lots of hills), then you'll be just fine.