Great deals on TJ parts on Amazon!

Looking for parts for your Jeep Wrangler TJ? Checkout the selection of TJ parts Amazon has to offer, many with 2-day Prime shipping!

Click the image below to browse TJ parts on Amazon.

Jeep Wrangler TJ Parts on Amazon

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Another Supercharger Question

OP
Wls1996

Wls1996

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
41
Location
Pensacola, FL
Im debating just selling the whole kit at this point. This is a rabbit hole I wish I had never gone down. May as well just set thousands of dollars on fire at this point. I just dont have the cash at this point to dig deeper so i may, for now, just hope that the Split Second FTC1 is retarding timing enough to run low boost at 14.6 AFR
 

jeeptjtx

New Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Messages
9
Location
Texas
I trust Mark zero.

Have you tried calling Ryan? He really knows his shit when it comes to forced induction 4.0s.
I am working with Ryan right now on tuning my 4.0 with a Boosted Tech kit, modified of course per his guidance. It's running way better already and he's not finished yet.
 
OP
Wls1996

Wls1996

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
41
Location
Pensacola, FL
I am working with Ryan right now on tuning my 4.0 with a Boosted Tech kit, modified of course per his guidance. It's running way better already and he's not finished yet.
I have! he gave me some things he wanted me to do before getting a tune from him (injectors, map sensor and relocate IAT). Does anyone know if ford racing 39lb injectors are the same dimensions as the stock 4.0? If they are any taller they wont be able to clear the adaptor plate for the S/C on the throttle body. hoping someone has done this before!
 

RubyRedLJ

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
4
Location
WA
I have! he gave me some things he wanted me to do before getting a tune from him (injectors, map sensor and relocate IAT). Does anyone know if ford racing 39lb injectors are the same dimensions as the stock 4.0? If they are any taller they wont be able to clear the adaptor plate for the S/C on the throttle body. hoping someone has done this before!
Any updates?
 

Mark Frey

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2021
Messages
2
Location
Australia
The Jeep is in a storage unit at the moment, I won’t be able to start with Ryan until January but I will update!
I have a Sprintex SC installed on my TJ 2006. It came with Hypertech max energy Tuner rebranded as 'sprintex'. Everytime I try to accelerate while shifting from 1st to second gear or second to third, I get this sudden hiccup / hesitation for a a second or two and then the power gradually kicks in. I havent yet monitored any of my AFR readings to see what exactly is happening. Few days ago, I thought of running open loop full time and see if I experience a difference. Since I dont have any access to a tuner other than the HPT nor do I have the expertise in programing things myself, I decided the simplest way to force open loop is by unplugging one of the upstream O2 sensors (bank 1 sensor 1 - the one which has its plug visible from top side of the engine / passenger side). The difference was night and day!! the jeep drove with so much instant power like had never experienced before. It felt like it had a lot of responsiveness, instant pull and the shifting between the gears has become so smooth with no sudden glitch in power like before.
I am really not sure what to derive from this, but it sure makes me want to drive my jeep with that O2 sensor never plugged in again!
 

Jezza

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Jan 7, 2021
Messages
753
Location
DFW Texas
I have a Sprintex SC installed on my TJ 2006. It came with Hypertech max energy Tuner rebranded as 'sprintex'. Everytime I try to accelerate while shifting from 1st to second gear or second to third, I get this sudden hiccup / hesitation for a a second or two and then the power gradually kicks in. I havent yet monitored any of my AFR readings to see what exactly is happening. Few days ago, I thought of running open loop full time and see if I experience a difference. Since I dont have any access to a tuner other than the HPT nor do I have the expertise in programing things myself, I decided the simplest way to force open loop is by unplugging one of the upstream O2 sensors (bank 1 sensor 1 - the one which has its plug visible from top side of the engine / passenger side). The difference was night and day!! the jeep drove with so much instant power like had never experienced before. It felt like it had a lot of responsiveness, instant pull and the shifting between the gears has become so smooth with no sudden glitch in power like before.
I am really not sure what to derive from this, but it sure makes me want to drive my jeep with that O2 sensor never plugged in again!
Exact same reason I ditched HP and went with a stand alone. There are tables and parameters in the PCM that cannot be accessed with HP that affect the driveability. Mine was trying to trim 10-20% in the long-terms under part throttle boost giving it that lag feel. If there was a parameter to disble O2 feedback at lower load values you could tune it out. Other PCMs have that parameter as an option. The TJ tunes I have seen do not. Contacting HP all I was told is that "If you can figure it out we may be able to add it". You can completely disable the trims in HP and it will run better, but then there is no feedback for fueling ever. This would mean that if anything were to change like fuel pressure, altitude, ethanol content, etc. the PCM would have no means of correcting the fuel mxture. Like running an old 4 barrel carb. Set it and forget it. Rebuild the engine every 75k.
 

Mark Frey

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2021
Messages
2
Location
Australia
"If there was a parameter to disable O2 feedback at lower load values you could tune it out."
Is unplugging the O2 sensor basically achieving the same desired result and effect ?

Another question that comes to my mind is, as I mentioned earlier, I unplugged only Bank 1 sensor and left Bank 2 sensor plugged in (simply because one was more accessible than the other at the time and I just wanted to conduct a quick test) . The results were very much desirable when I test drove it. My question is, does the PCM now figure out that Bank 1 O2 sensor is unplugged and run Open loop for BOTH the Banks? or was it running Bank 1 in open loop and Bank 2 in closed loop ? Potentially creating further problems?
 
Last edited:

Jezza

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Jan 7, 2021
Messages
753
Location
DFW Texas
"If there was a parameter to disable O2 feedback at lower load values you could tune it out."
Is unplugging the O2 sensor basically achieving the same desired result and effect ?

Another question that comes to my mind is, as I mentioned earlier, I unplugged only Bank 1 sensor and left Bank 2 sensor plugged in (simply because one was more accessible than the other at the time and I just wanted to conduct a quick test) . The results were very much desirable when I test drove it. My question is, does the PCM now figure out that Bank 1 O2 sensor is unplugged and run Open loop for BOTH the Banks? or was it running Bank 1 in open loop and Bank 2 in closed loop ? Potentially creating further problems?
I can't speak to how the PCM would react to unplugging the O2 sensors. I would assume that the PCM would disable closed loop feedback on whichever bank sensor was unplugged. I don't know if that would cause both banks to fault. Whether unplugging a sensor or switching closed loop off in the software both achieve the same goal of forcing open loop all the time. You could log or view this action with either the HP Scanner or even just a generic OBD2 scanner with live data view. Most will display fuel system status, either open or closed loop. Also if you clear the trims and they start re-trimming themselves you can determine whichever bank is still not disabled.
 

matthud

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2022
Messages
5
Location
Uk
Hi
Anyone firmilar with boostedtech m90
Got a problem with 3 different answers .
The fitting kit says to connect the manifold to top.of rocker - result engine stall

The fitting garage blanked it saying it runs perfectly blocked. It doesn't pressure back the idle motor- result engine stall

The super charger specialists say should be non return value set at 2bar. To maintain pressure but prevent to much

Anyone know who is actually right ?
Picture you can see small blue pipe blanked.

Screenshot_20221124_163816_Gallery.jpg


Screenshot_20221124_163816_Gallery.jpg