Cat back exhaust options for 06 LJ?

PKJones4

Howdy!

I have to replace my muffler/exhaust pipe in my 06 Rubicon LJ and was having problems finding a good selection of cat-back exhaust systems that were in my price range. My friend put a Flowmaster in his JL and I liked the sound/look, however, I have found TONS for the normal TJ but no complete systems for my LJ.

Do people have better luck just buying a muffler and the pipe separately? Any other brands or tips for looking for a new one?

Thanks in advance!

(P.S. This is my first Jeep and I am a novice backyard mechanic so please go easy on me!)

I have a magnaflow muffler with an before axle dump. With my experience magnaflow makes some pretty good stuff but that comes at a price.

For the complete system I’d pick the muffler and therefor sound you want and go to an exhaust shop and have them route an exit pipe to your liking. Would most likely be a cheaper option then buying a kit. Hope this helps!

I have a magnaflow muffler with an before axle dump. With my experience magnaflow makes some pretty good stuff but that comes at a price.

For the complete system I’d pick the muffler and therefor sound you want and go to an exhaust shop and have them route an exit pipe to your liking. Would most likely be a cheaper option then buying a kit. Hope this helps!

If it dumps before the axel does it use the second connection mount?

For curiosities sake, any reason to dump it before the axel? Just for easier install/removal? (WOW was it hard to get the exhaust pipe out lol)

Just bolts to the third cat and uses the first hanger.

I only had it dump before the axle because I crushed tail pipes twice and didn’t want to deal with it anymore. That being said I’m gonna have this run over the axle and out the back just want to figure a way to tuck the exhaust higher up and closer to the rear body.

If it dumps before the axel does it use the second connection mount?
no