Dealer suspects a cracked head. What do the experts think?

primetime4

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I have posted about this in a few other posts but hoping to get more responses here. I have been chasing a cylinder misfires for a few months now. All this appeared to start after I changed out a bad crankshaft position sensor. Since Mopar units are no longer an option, I installed an NTK sensor and the Jeep started and ran great.

Fast forward a few weeks while driving on the interstate over 70 mph at approximately 3100 rpm and I start getting a flashing check engine light. There are no noticeable changes to how the engine runs at high or low RPMs. It continues to run very smoothly and idles fine. I check the codes and get p0304 and p0306.

From here I changed out the spark plugs for a new set of NGK (old ones still looked fine but figured a refresh wouldn't hurt). Jeep still runs fine after this with no noticeable change but the issue still continued. Did not check the codes since I planned to take it to a local shop.

Took it to a shop to get diagnosed and shop said I need a new crank position sensor (which I just changed) and a coil rail. I asked them how they figured this and they just said the "codes told them". Regardless, because I could still buy a Mopar coil rail, I figured it would not hurt to freshen things up with a new one so I had one installed at a second shop. Jeep continues to run fine with no noticeable change but the issue persists. This time, I see codes p0300, p0406, p0306.

This time, I took it to the dealer hoping the dealer has a fancy scan tool that can view live data. Dealer performs a fuel induction cleaning service to verify that carbon buildup is not the issue with no noticeable change. Just to confirm it was not the NTK sensor at fault, I bought a NAPA Echelin sensor and asked the dealer to install. No noticeable change. Finally, the dealer runs a compression tests with the following results:

Cylinder 1: 175 psi
Cylinder 2: 175 psi