High Mileage Preventative Maintenance

YonderNorthwest

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Hey all. I've got a 1999 TJ Sahara that I've been driving daily since I was 16 (16 years ago). The odometer just hit the 230k mark. Started driving it at about 90k miles. As far as reliability it has been pretty good to me.

Issues through life of vehicle thus far:
- Exhaust manifold cracked at about 95k miles. Replaced with OEM part that had some kind of billow in it to prevent cracking. Been fine ever since.
- Factory Dana 44 LSD ground the gears in the differential down at about 120k miles. Was tight on time and had the local dealership replace it. Less than a year later it began to literally fall apart. Dealership paid to have an open diff replacement installed by 3rd party shop. Have since gone to TrueTrac LSD front and rear (at 205k miles).
- Also at 120k miles, decided it was a good idea to "jump" my jeep over a hump along a logging road. Slammed the front tires into a small washout and cracked the radiator and broke both sway bars. OEM replacement radiator still going strong.
- Camshaft sensor began failing at about 180k miles. Alarming symptoms. First replacement part was defective. Second part has lasted.
- Replaced springs and shocks at about 185k miles with stock height moog and bilstein 4600s. Thinking it might be time for refresh?
- Alternator started whining at about 190k miles. Replaced with Bosch. Been fine since
- Broke the sway bars again (rubber bits failed) at about 200k miles. Replaced with anti-rock.
- Replaced front axle u-joints at about the same time because of noise.
- Had clutch repaired/replaced also at about the same time for symptoms I don't recall.
- Began developing slop in steering at about 210k miles. Replaced control arms and trackbar ball joints.
- Engine threw code for bad O2 sensor at about 225k miles. Replaced with NGK/NTK. Been experiencing intermittent O2 sensor code.