How to connect wiring to soundbar plug?

Kurt_S

Supporting Member
I bought a stock soundbar for my '97 which never had one and found the connector on amazon. Can someone point me to a video on how to connect the wires to it? I found the wire order on the forum, but not sure how of the rest. How far back to I strip the wires and should this be soldered?

Plug and connectors.jpg

These are just crimp connectors, no solder required. You strip off just enough of the wire to make contact, then crimp them down with a tool like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GFLWKTT/?tag=wranglerorg-20
I'm no electrician, and man this was a pain in the ass to do. If I had to do it again I would just cut the connectors and solder/shrink wrap the wires.

EDIT: That first link isn't exactly the style crimper you want, it should be something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07476C1LD/?tag=wranglerorg-20

Last edited:
These are just crimp connectors, no solder required. You strip off just enough of the wire to make contact, then crimp them down with a tool like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GFLWKTT/?tag=wranglerorg-20
I'm no electrician, and man this was a pain in the ass to do. If I had to do it again I would just cut the connectors and solder/shrink wrap the wires.

EDIT: That first link isn't exactly the style crimper you want, it should be something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07476C1LD/?tag=wranglerorg-20
Having the correct terminal release tool and crimper makes life a whole lot easier.

Having the correct terminal release tool and crimper makes life a whole lot easier.
Yep, I learned that after mangling a bunch of them and finally buying the tool. On the surface it looks like you should be able to do it with a pair of pliers but you will never get them seated properly without good crimps.

Reactions: williambmac
Thanks for the link to the correct crimping tool. I had a question about where to strip and crimp, but I see the tool shows how to do that.