Installing Yukon WU-08 Hub Kit (Similar to WU-07 Also)

M

motomick76

There are two hub kits available for the Dana 30 from Yukon, the WU-07 and WU-08. Both are pretty spendy, 07 being just less than $1000, and the 08 right at $1450. I chose the 08 feeling it was a bit more robust hub unit, with the 07 being very similar to old Bronco II hub units. I have no real world experience to verify the strength of either one, just personal preference. The second biggest difference it hub pattern, the 07 kit keeps the standard 5 x 4.5 pattern, and the 08 changes it to a 5 x 5.5 pattern. This bigger pattern was not a large issue for me, as I was also installing a Yukon Super 88 kit also, which lets you choose between a 4.5 or 5.5 pattern. This kit includes the stub shafts, 720 u-joints, but not the axle shafts. The stub shafts are a 4340 hardened, so I got some 4340, 27 spline axle shafts also.

There is a downfall in this, if you have a Black Magic Brake kit installed, you are going to end up with some rotors that are unusable, (The ones that come in the kit). I currently had the 15" kit installed, and one advantage to that kit is it accepts 15" or 16" rotors. I was going to 17" rims, makes perfect sense to upgrade to 16" rotors since I had to get new ones anyway. Blaine is able to take his rotors, wave his wand, and wolla!, a set of rotors that will work with either hub kit with his brake kit.

First you must get the kit, then send him the spindle, bearing hub, inner and outer races, inner and outer bearings. wheel studs. and inner spindle nut. He machines his rotors and makes a few other adjustments, makes some measurements, and sends back everything with his rotors. Once all of that is back, it is ready to assemble.