Looking for some advice for my Jeep catalytic converter problems

CheechJeep

So i've had this jeep wrangler 2004 tj sport for about a year now and I want to fix the check engine light code P0432. I've been looking at different catalytic converters to replace the one that is not running right in my jeep, I'm just not sure which one to go with. I recently ordered 4 new O2 sensors and going to replace I was wondering if i should replace the O2 sensors and maybe the check engine light will go off. I'm new to working on jeeps and just need some opinions thank you guys.

If you’ve already ordered the sensors, you might as well install and see if that fixes it before spending more on new cats.

What brand did you order? I know there’s a thread around here with a recommendation as these Jeeps seem to be picky.

If the media is real bad it can damage the new downstream sensors-

An infrared thermometer can tell you if the cats are working and if they rattle they may be bad as well- you can also remove sensors and use a scope.

If it has any miles (over 70k) its likely time for all- it is really a service item.

I can’t remember the brand I got last.

Reactions: joelachr
. I recently ordered 4 new O2 sensors and going to replace I was wondering if i should replace the O2 sensors and maybe the check engine light will go off.

That code (usually) means the sensors have detected a problem.
Not that the sensors are bad. YRMV

So i've had this jeep wrangler 2004 tj sport for about a year now and I want to fix the check engine light code P0432. I've been looking at different catalytic converters to replace the one that is not running right in my jeep, I'm just not sure which one to go with. I recently ordered 4 new O2 sensors and going to replace I was wondering if i should replace the O2 sensors and maybe the check engine light will go off. I'm new to working on jeeps and just need some opinions thank you guys.