inkedrose

washed up superhero
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Read a bunch of threads on here about the Midland MXT 275. Everyone seems to be happy with it... good, basic starter comm. Was about to pull the trigger but came across the MXT 575, 50 watt. Supposedly still made for dummies (me) but with more power but a much higher price tag. I don't know sh%t about radios! Does tripple the power equate to tripple the range? Couldn't find many reviews for anyone that's actually used the MXT575. Midland has a bundle for the MX 275 for $250, MXT575 starts at $399. I'm a novice, looking for something to talk to buddies on the trail. Possibly call for help if needed. I already carry hand helds and most places I've been are hiking distance to cell service. Is the power jump worth the price jump?

https://www.crutchfield.com/S-2jEMBtmV3vj/p_102MXT575/Midland-MicroMobile-MXT575.html
https://midlandusa.com/products/mxt...W0bjVAYaKMkj39kQMBnYl1hlubiA4aQBoCBoMQAvD_BwE

I don’t have much of an opinion one way or another. For trail comms I don’t see the added expense being worth it though…

I will say that for my use the MXT275 is perfect. I only use it for comms while in a group that’s usually no more than feet to a mile or two apart. Works perfectly with my 3 handhelds…

Reactions: inkedrose
I'd say focus on features and not power. For all radio applications like this it's all about having line of sight and having a good antenna (+antenna placement). The MXT 275 seems to be really popular as you can stow the unit away and have full functionality from the mic.

I personally have the MXT115. I've hit repeaters all over my local area and don't have issues on the trails.