Need new wheels and tires—do I have this right?

mcarthey

Hey all! I'm brand new to the Wrangler community as I only just picked up my 2004 Wrangler LJ Unlimited late last summer. I only had time to clean it and do some basic fixes. When I purchased it I had noticed the wheels were in bad shape and, as luck would have it, one went flat over the winter. Of course, the spare was also flat. Both leak all around the bead. I call that "luck" as I wanted to upgrade anyway. ;)

So I've been researching and want to make sure I have this right. Through a combination of measuring my actual wheels and taking a look at wheel-size.com and tiresize.com and believe I've identified I have the following,

* 30x9.5x15
* 25.4mm offset, which equates to about +6" of backspacing.

I'd like to upgrade to 32x11.5x15, and I am looking at a 2" suspension/leveling lift.

So a few questions...

Is that the minimum lift size I need for 32s?
I see people mentioning 4" of backspacing necessary but since this is so far from the current 6" will I have problems?
The equivalent offset on 11.5 seems to be -6mm according to tiresize.com?

I'm sure I'm confusing this subject, but ultimately I just want to make sure I get the correct offset on the new rims for the 32x11.5s, so I don't need spacers or have to trim anything.

Thanks for any clarifications you can provide as I'm definitely looking forward to the melting of the snow and getting it fixed up and ready for warmer weather! I'm not planning any major off-road events, but I do want to hit all the ORV/MVUM trails in my area for sure!

EDIT: I realized I'm confusing the offset/BS based on the tire and not the wheel when entering my calculations. Assuming a 15x8 wheel with 4" backspacing it looks like that equates to about a -13mm offset. According to https://tiresize.com/wheel-offset-calculator/ it will move the wheel about 0.5" out from the back of the wheel. I have no idea if that's enough based on the new wheel size.