What does a new to me TJ owner do first?

Lucee

Supporting Member
Alright I’ve had my tj for a month now and have put a few things in like leds and new head system. I do plan on lifting and linexing it early next year. But now what? What do I need to do to make sure its running at its best? I’m new to Jeep’s and working on vehicles in general so please keep that in mind when pointing me in the right direction. It’s a stock 05 sport in fantastic shape and is my DD and dog/beach mobile.

21D8A0A1-6F3B-4367-ADD0-416ADFCD4B74.jpeg

Welcome to the forum first off. It's nice to see a female TJ owner (especially since all the female's I see are driving JKs)!

It looks like your TJ is in excellent shape. However, given how old our TJs are, even if the mileage isn't high I always recommend a cooling system overhaul (see here: Jeep Wrangler TJ Cooling System Overhaul FAQ), because cooling systems are probably one of the most common things to fail on older vehicles.

But other than that, I'm not sure there's much you need to worry about. As preventative maintenance you could replace the spark plugs (see here: What are the best spark plugs for my Jeep Wrangler TJ 4.0?) and replace the O2 sensors as well (see here: The Official Jeep Wrangler TJ Oxygen (O2) Sensor Thread) as those are all items that should be replaced as part of routine maintenance anyhow.

If you have not serviced it since you’ve had it and there is no prior history of service I would do the following in order of importance:

Check for fluid leaks
Oil change
Transmission fluid change
Brake fluid exchange
Inspect brakes
Front and rear differential oil change
Replace spark plugs (I don’t think 2005 has wires?)
Inspect all u-joints
Inspect front hubs
Coolant flush
Inspect radiator and hoses
Replace air filter
Check/clean Idler Air Controller valve
Check/clean throttle body