Is it worth buying fuel tank skid plate

Ed1967

Supporting Member
I have a 06 LJ with Savvy 4 inch lift & tt. Just curious to see if its worth it.

I have a 06 LJ with Savvy 4 inch lift & tt. Just curious to see if its worth it.
Maybe maybe not on your 06. The TJ initially came with a thin sheet metal pan that supported the plastic gas tank and it couldn't protect it from much. Then Jeep beefed it up sometime around 00-01 to around 1/8" which was far more protective and up to most offroad use. But if you're wheeling on really tough terrain where the gas tank can be subjected to hard impacts like on big rocks then Savvy's aluminum gas tank skid plate would be a good investment. I've been running one for probably 15 years and it withstands impacts that are downright massive.

I will be going to the Rubicon next year. Did Hollister a few times.
Nothing to crazy. Just getting out of drag cars.
Trying not to go over board on spending a bunch of money where its not needed.

Maybe maybe not on your 06. The TJ initially came with a thin sheet metal pan that supported the plastic gas tank and it couldn't protect it from much. Then Jeep beefed it up sometime around 00-01 to around 1/8" which was far more protective and up to most offroad use. But if you're wheeling on really tough terrain where the gas tank can be subjected to hard impacts like on big rocks then Savvy's aluminum gas tank skid plate would be a good investment. I've been running one for probably 15 years and it withstands impacts that are downright massive.
X2 on this.

Reactions: Ed1967
Some gas tank skids allow you to raise the tank an inch (with an appropriate body lift).

Reactions: JMT