Need advice on a 2005 Rubi Purchase

mgroeger

TJ Enthusiast
I'm new to the forum and ready to move on a 2005 Rubi. My wife has a new JL Sahara and we have both been bit HARD by the Jeep bug. Already off roading and building her Jeep up so now it's my turn. Can't afford two JL's so I honed in on the 2003-2006 Rubi. I'm new to the 4:10 gear ratio but familiar with the inline 6 engine.
I found one that just became available at a local dealer. Here are the specs:
2005 Rubi.
115,000 miles.
ALL stock and original except steering stabilizer and stereo.
Hard top only.
Engine and underbelly completely dry, no leaks or smells.
Tranny fluid still pink, smells fine and I believe it is original.
New Michelin tires (265/70 R16 I think).
Interior in very good shape, scratch/ding or two on the body which we will call built in character :)
Alignment is dead on.

Concerns:
When hitting the brakes it pulls left. Most likely bad left caliper. Dealer noticed this before I even mentioned it. They are looking into it.
When the locker switch is pushed up or down it does not appear to be locking the axles. The light does not come on and there is no noise coming from the underside indicating the axle locked.
** At highway speeds a weird cyclical vibration can be felt in the floor, NOT the steering wheel. It sort of comes in a wave, i.e. it starts off, then gets slightly more intense and then backs off and stops, then repeats within a few seconds. It's very odd and I have no clue what could be causing this. This is my biggest concern.
Transmission has a very slight clunk when putting it into gear sometimes and I think I may have felt it when I came to a complete stop once. Nothing very severe.
Idles fine but has that slight hiccup that the inline six seems to produce irradically.
Bouncy ride but I suspect with 13 year old shocks and springs that they are to blame and in short order a lift will be going on it.