Upgrading Dana 35 to a Super Dana 35 and installing a locker in front Dana 30

Jacob Hurley

Hello, I am very new to wheeling but I understand that if I want to put 35s on my TJ. I need to either get a ford 8.8(I really don't want to swap my axle) or do a Super 35 kit. I know that the super 35 upgrades the weak 27 spline shaft to a 30 spline. But I am confused on weather or not I can just buy a revolutionary Super 35 kit with the shafts or do I have to also change other parts within the dana 35 diff? I am planning on doing all the work myself and with a friend that can regear. But I just want to understand weather or not I need to upgrade other parts in the axle or can I just buy a revolutionary 30 spline axle shaft with a Detroit locker(If I can find one. So far all I can find is a Ten Factory with a Detroit locker) and then get 5.13 gears and call it good? I am also planning on regearing the front to 5.13 and also putting a Aussie locker in it. Will I need to change the carrier at all for regearing or do I just need the gears? I have read many of the forms on here and other places but because I am new to axles and gearing I am just struggling a little bit to understand what all needs to be done to upgrade and regear.

The current terrain around me is clay, with rocks and some moderate to steep climes, I plan on going to Uwharrie mainly. I went today(April 29, 2023) and it was all mudding and the rocks were slick, But I was still able to do all but 2 of the trails with 32s and a 2 inch lift, did not hit but the rear diff just barely due to sliding off a rock. I found that both my front and rear wheels would slip which I know lockers would help prevent this. But I also want to do 35s so I can do Daniel and Dickey bell the 2 hardest trails their but I need 35s and lockers to get through due to lots of rocks and deep holes.