2000 Sahara Engine / Transmission Swap

Declan McPherson

Hey I am new to the whole forum thing and to be honest I usually avoid them like the plague but I have come to a crossroads and don't have anywhere else to turn. That being said I apologize ahead of time if I lose anyone in all this.

I am wanting to learn more about engines, transmissions and really the guts of a vehicle so I figured what better way than to do it myself. I told myself that if the engine or transmission got into a bad enough condition that I would start working on a 350 engine swap. Well as of recently my transmission has started to go out.

First things first, a little bit about the vehicle. Right now I have the 4.0 I6 with a cool air intake and a 3 speed auto trans. What got me looking at the trans in the first place was that the overdrive gear started acting a little wonky on my 14 hr drive back to Abq. When I checked the trans fluid it was pitch black. My biggest fear is that if I do change the fluid it might get progressively worse and fail quicker than if I leave it alone.

Secondly I would like to do a 350 engine swap with either a 5 or 6 speed manual transmission. As far as the engine I want to do. I'm thinking the 5.3 l33 aluminum block since there is still a lot I can do aftermarket on top of the fact I would be losing weight and gaining hp. I'm having more problems figuring out what transmission to do more than anything which is unfortunate since that is the first thing to be going.