Budget TJ

Randy_K

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I have been a Jeep owner a few months and have started to do some upgrades. I bought a 2004 Jeep TJ fairly cheep for our area. As a welder by trade I am planning on doing as much work as I can myself and with help from friends and forums. Comments of what I do right and what I do wrong are appreciated.
18491369_10154340875112251_37541763150453801_o.jpg

Nice rig. What size tires are you running?
Thanks. Lots to learn and lots to do. Tires are 31" The thing is hard to keep on the road . Handles like crap. Tires are real bad I think. Winter snows are coming soon.

What kind of issues are you having?

It pulls all over the road , feels scary at 60 MPH. I am a new jeep owner though and my other vehicle is a 4 door Ford F150 , about twice the wheel base. I am putting on winter tires in a few weeks so I will see if it changes.

It pulls all over the road , feels scary at 60 MPH. I am a new jeep owner though and my other vehicle is a 4 door Ford F150 , about twice the wheel base. I am putting on winter tires in a few weeks so I will see if it changes.
Yeah, it should feel very stable at that speed. Stock height with 31's and now 3" lift and 33's I can drive hwy speed with my hands off the wheel with no issues.

Do a dry steering test to make sure nothing is worn out.

Yeah, it should feel very stable at that speed. Stock height with 31's and now 3" lift and 33's I can drive hwy speed with my hands off the wheel with no issues.

Do a dry steering test to make sure nothing is worn out.

I have a fall colour run in a few weeks. After that I am putting on new snows and having a alinement done . Over the winter I will have it in and out of my garage doing some more mods to it. < tummy tuck >

Reactions: derekmac
I just ordered the second part for my " tummy tuck " I have already done a body lift. After doing my second Jeep club run I realized the need . I actually found this forum when doing a search on " tummy tuck "