DIY Professionals

Classic>New

"Certified" by the internet
Supporting Member
Hey y'all, I'm new here and have been reading a lot of great threads in prep for tinkering with my new Jeep. I am in awe of how you all do these electrical, mechanical, and structural projects on your rides.

So I thought it would be cool to have a thread where you could share how you became proficient at these specialties and maybe it could help others find people who are particularly good at certain types of work for their own projects. So was it through pure tinkering/trial and error, was it your profession, handed down knowledge, etc...?

Personally I love learning new things and challenging myself and whatever I have done has been out of passion. I have no engineering background so this is all new to me.

And in advance thanks for sharing!

Reactions: BugoutJeep and jjvw
I learned by doing. I started with 2-stroke motorcycles. A few years later I changed the timing chain on my wife's car (had to - no money). The more I did, the more confidence I had. Best of all, I could do stuff on my own schedule in my own yard. When I was 20, it was about finding a good service manual. Now almost everything is on the internet. Important to most projects is having the right tools. Tool availability is a lot better now since most auto part stores share tools.

Anything I know about working on cars I owe to my dad teaching me when I was a kid. That and the fact that having my parents buy me a car when I was 16, my friends and I were ALWAYS under that thing working on it in some way or another.

In addition, 4 years of shop class in high school taught me a lot as well!

I learned at a very early age that nearly anything can be taken apart. And more importantly, that things can be put back together if you pay attention to what you are doing. The more you pay attention, the more often a past experience can carry over to another new experience.