Is this frame in bad shape?

bw14j

I’m new to Jeeps and looking at buying this 2002 Wrangler and am a little weary about the frame condition. Is it in good shape or should I pass on it and keep looking?

I tapped on the center side by the skid plate and a piece of rust fell down but the seller said it was from the undercoat under the frame. He recently lifted the jeep and the mechanic said when the Jeep was lifted that the metal guard under the frame has to be dropped down away from the frame. Thus exposing 20 years worth of muck undercoat etc.

Is that something that could happen?

Thanks for the help!

5E5E7997-AFB6-4206-9961-BE4D794E8600.jpeg

2C9040C0-2FCE-447E-A9B0-729D6767F38F.jpeg

FD1EF305-3178-4112-8FD4-4DC2A854D842.jpeg

51653276-1612-4BDB-A967-BF5574376A36.jpeg

7BD3A53D-CF3B-49B6-97EB-9C0C033A89C0.jpeg

7449256A-E36D-41A2-80FC-1278EE1BF421.jpeg

D97AC38A-0330-40A6-8AF0-97E2A7FA8BBD.jpeg

5B85E064-6DBC-4FB1-B197-BDDAB081E9B1.jpeg

8D20B8BA-71C8-4A6B-A969-94C37F078D74.jpeg

1AC2FCCD-4B3C-42BD-A28F-BAF1CDFB9664.jpeg

Last edited:
Pass for me but I'm on the west coast and am a rust snob..the east coast and Midwest guys will be along shortly to tell you how nice it is..in the end are you comfortable with rust? The one pic shows heavy corrosion right in front of the lower control arm mount..that is where these frames like to rust

Pass for me but I'm on the west coast and am a rust snob..the east coast and Midwest guys will be along shortly to tell you how nice it is..in the end are you comfortable with rust? The one pic shows heavy corrosion right in front of the lower control arm mount..that is where these frames like to rust

I appreciate the response. I wouldn't say I'm comfortable with rust, but if this frame isn't too far gone, I'd do what I could to prevent it from getting any worse.