Steering wheel play

jnunymc

I recently replaced all the steering linkage and front end parts minus the ball joints on my 2002 TJ. It is driving fine down the road, but the shop we took it to wouldn't align it because of all the play on the steering wheel. I am new to working on Jeeps, this is the first one I've owned. Can anyone offer any suggestions that I can make to tighten up the steering wheel and adjust the play? Thank you all in advance.

First...
Dry steering test.
Get a partner.
Watch the following...
Is the steering shaft turning with the splines from the column?
If yes...
is the steering shaft at the box turning with no play.
If yes...
Is the shaft turning with the input splines of the box?
if yes...
Is the output splines of the box turning with the input splines of the box with no dead spots?
If yes...
Is the Pitman arm at the box turning with the output splines?(they go bad and a softer material than the box splines shaft)
If yes...
Then check each tie rod joints after.
At the pitman arm, drag link, each knuckle.

Don't forget the track bar!! Very important. If it's bad it can make the whole front end shift.

Don't forget the ball joints.

Lastly if all the above checks out
And all is tight...You've got bad u-joints in the axles.

If you answered no to any of the above stop and fix. Then proceed with rest of test.

If you find your box is sloppy don't try to adjust. 99 times out of 100 it doesn't work and or makes it worse. Get a new one.

First...
Dry steering test.
Get a partner.
Watch the following...
Is the steering shaft turning with the splines from the column?
If yes...
is the steering shaft at the box turning with no play.
If yes...
Is the shaft turning with the input splines of the box?
if yes...
Is the output splines of the box turning with the input splines of the box with no dead spots?
If yes...
Is the Pitman arm at the box turning with the output splines?(they go bad and a softer material than the box splines shaft)
If yes...