Thoughts on Maxxis tires?

matkal

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Specifically, Maxxis MT-764 Buckshot ll (31-10.50/15). I was looking at Inexpensive mud tires and these came up. I was surprised how cheap they are, I thought Maxxis was an at least mid level tire.

Anyone have experience with these tires? I like the look of a mud tire, I don’t drive in the snow and don’t see myself putting on more than 5k miles per year . Some of my driving would be interstate for 100-300 miles at a stretch at most maybe in the rain on the way to off-road areas
772DA6C4-513F-44DB-A940-3F1C6D413743.jpeg

Last edited:
No personal experience here either. But I just finished doing a ton of online tire research. Maxxis generally gets great reviews. I was dead set on getting the Maxxis Razr MT but they only make an E-rated version in the size I wanted.

Reactions: matkal
I have no experience with the Maxxis MT-764 "Buckshot." However, I run a LT255/85R16 Maxxis MT-762 Bighorn as a "pizza cutter" spare for my "metric 35's". It seems to be a good mid-range tire and it balanced with little weight, but mine will probably never need to be used (knock on wood) so I can't give a performance evaluation.

I will say that based upon the online reviews and my physical inspection of the tire as a spare, if the size is right and the "Bigshot" has the tread you want/need and you are on a budget, a Maxxis tire might be a good choice for you. (Mastercraft is another good mid-range brand to consider if you are on a budget.)

Mid-range tires typically don't last as long as premium brands but sometimes getting a set of new tires today is more important than how a more expensive tire might look 5 years from now.

Maxxis MT-762 Bighorn
71IvtHqSUAL._AC_SL1024_.jpg

Last edited: